Tuesday, October 23, 2007

Dixie Chicks Fly Country Music CD Review

Fly is the up-to-the-minute release from Confederacy Chicks, and I can only believe of one word to depict it… AWESOME!

It's a rare twenty-four hours indeed that I acquire a cadmium from an creative person that I can truthfully state makes not have got a bad path in the bunch. I'm more than happy to denote that's exactly what I must state about this one. There simply isn't a bad 1 in the bunch. No fillers here at all, with each song standing tall on it's own.

Fly is a pleasantly varied, premix of 14 paths that are very well written and brilliantly performed songs by these clearly talented musicians. With many of the songs displaying a batch of the sort emotion that brands for a really great listen. Seemingly drawing from what I can only conceive of are their ain existent life experiences. At different points touching on the most existent emotions of love, heartbreak, pain, failed human relationships and unachievable romance. They're all here.

Overall Fly is a solid release. Quite possibly Confederacy Chicks's best to date. Really sensational from beginning to end. If you're level mildly into Country music you'll bask this CD.

While the full cadmium is really very good some of my favourites are path 2 - If I Fall You're Going Down With Me, path 7 - Don't Waste Your Heart, and path 10 - Some Days You Gotta Dance

My Bonus Pick, and the 1 that got Sensitive [...as in "Stuck On REpeat"] is path 11 - Hole In My Head. This is a great track!

Fly Release Notes:

Dixie Chicks originally released Fly on August 31, 1999 on the Memorial Records label.

CD Path List Follows:

1. Ready To Run

2. If I Fall You're Going Down With Me

3. Cowboy Take Me Away

4. Cold Day In July

5. Adieu Earl

6. Hello Mr. Heartache

7. Don't Waste Your Heart

8. Sin Wagon

9. Without You

10. Some Days You Gotta Dance

11. Hole In My Head

12. Grief Town

13. (untitled)

14. Let Him Fly

Dixie Chicks: Natalie Maines (vocals, manus claps); Emily Robison (acoustic & lap steel guitar, banjo, dobro, manus claps, background vocals); Martie Seidel (fiddle, viola, background vocals).

Additional force includes: Alice Paul Worley (acoustic guitar, background vocals); Randy Scruggs, Truncheon Joe Toilet Walker Jr, Adam Steinberg, William Jennings Bryan Sutton, Dennis Linde, Marcus Hummon (acoustic guitar); Pat Buchanan, Saint George Marinelli, Microphone Henderson, Keith Urban (electric guitar); Harold Lloyd Maines (steel guitar); John Mock (tin whistle, concertina, bodhran); Steve Conn (accordion); Steve Nathan, Flatness Rollings (Hammond B-3 organ, keyboards); Michael Cecil Rhodes (bass); Greg Morrow (drums); Uncle Tom Roady, Dame Ellen Terry McMillan (percussion); William Blake Chancey, Charlie Robison (hand claps, background vocals).

Principally recorded at Westwood Sound Studio, Nashville, Tennessee.

No comments: