Monday, July 2, 2007

Keiko Matsui Piano Smooth Jazz Music CD Review

Piano is the latest release from Smooth Jazz Artist Keiko Matsui, and is another great one by this talented musician.

It's a rare day indeed that I get a CD from an artist that I can truthfully say does not have a bad track in the bunch. I'm more than happy to announce that's exactly what I must say about this one. There simply isn't a bad one in the bunch. No fillers here at all, with each song standing tall on it's own.

One of the refreshingly nice things about this CD is the way all of the participating artists seem to be really enjoying themselves. Combine that with the overall presentation and you've got one of Keiko Matsui's most impressive releases ever.

If you're even mildly into Smooth Jazz music you'll enjoy this CD. Overall Piano is an a great release. I give it my double thumbs up. You will not be disappointed with one single track.

While this entire CD is outstanding the truly standout tunes are track 1 - Presence Of The Moon, track 3 - Whisper From The Mirror, and track 5 - Light Above The Trees.

My SmoothLee Bonus Pick, and the one that got Sore [ in "Stuck On REpeat"] is track 10 - See You There. Good stuff!

Piano Release Notes:

Keiko Matsui originally released Piano on May 6, 2003 on the Sony Wonder label.

CD Track List Follows:

1. Presence Of The Moon

2. Water Lily

3. Whisper From The Mirror

4. Between The Moons

5. Light Above The Trees

6. Doll

7. Beyond The Light

8. Trees

9. Forever, Forever

10. See You There

11. Dawn

12. Distance

13. Be With Me

Personnel: Keiko Matsui (piano); Derek Nakamoto (programming). Recorded at Power House Studio, Tokyo, Japan.

No comments: